Caucus Results

imageThis is the news release I received from the state party. The photo is from the state website:

March 26, 2016
CONTACT: Jake Hamburg (907) 258-3077




Results Complete for Alaska Democratic Presidential Caucuses

Sanders wins 81% of vote amidst historic turnout

ANCHORAGE: The Alaska Democratic Party today released the full results from the March 26 Alaska Democratic Presidential Caucuses.

With 100% of the districts reporting, Bernie Sanders received 81%, or 440 state convention delegates awarded. Hillary Clinton received 21% or 99 delegates.

Sanders, winner of the Alaska Democratic caucuses, received 8447 votes.

Almost 11,000 Alaskans cast votes for President at the Democratic caucuses held March 26 at 42 locations across the state. The record turnout in 2016 was 119% of the turnout in 2008, and far more than anticipated. In Anchorage, more than 1,000 participants changed their party affiliation and joined the Alaska Democratic Party.

For complete district-by-district results, see

Delegates are elected from each State House District to attend the Alaska Democratic Party’s state convention based on the candidates’ proportional strength in the presidential fan out March 26. The state convention will be May 13-15 in Anchorage, Alaska. At the state convention, 16 delegates will be elected to the 2016 Democratic National Convention based on the candidates’ proportional strength at the fan out there. Alaska has an additional four “unpledged” delegates to the national convention. In total, Alaska has 20 delegates to the national convention.

With 100% of districts reporting:

% of delegates awarded to each candidate/number of delegates awarded/number of supporters at caucus.

Bernie Sanders – 81.6% – 440 delegates – 8,447 supporters
Hillary Clinton – 18.4% – 99 delegates – 2,144 supporters

Total delegates awarded: 539
Total number of participants voting at caucuses: 10,617


This communication is paid for by the Alaska Democratic Party, 2602 Fairbanks Street, Anchorage, AK 99503
and is not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.